European Romantic Review

European Romantic Review (ERR) is published six times per year by Taylor and Francis, and is dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of literature, history, philosophy and art. Each year, it publishes a NASSR Conference Issue and awards the Frederick Burwick Article Prize (formerly called the ERR-NASSR Essay Prize). All NASSR members receive ERR as one of the benefits of membership.

European Romantic Review can be accessed online

ERR is pleased to publish conference issues, developed from the annual NASSR conference, as well as special issues, such as recent ones dedicated to Robert Bloomfield and to Maria Edgeworth. We are also pleased to publish themed issues, such as Women and Protest. Enquiries about special issues should be directed to the co-editors.

In 2004, NASSR and European Romantic Review instituted an annual prize for the best essay published in European Romantic Review.  Each competition considers all of the essays published in that year's volume of ERR. The 2021 awardee is Lisa Ann Robertson (U of South Dakota) for “‘Kindred Forms’: Erasmus Darwin’s Posthuman Ethics of Relationality” (32.5-6)

Winning articles can be accessed freely here

Submitted manuscripts must comply with the MLA Style Manual and, to facilitate anonymous peer review, should indicate the author’s name only on a cover sheet. Submissions should be made through the "Manuscript Central" (or "Scholar One") system accessible at This website includes detailed directions to guide authors through each step; the co-editors remain available to answer questions at [email protected] or [email protected]. Book reviews are commissioned and mostly multi-book reviews; inquiries about reviews may be directed to the Book Review Editor at [email protected]. Tables of contents for recent issues are available through the Taylor & Francis website.


Editors' Addresses:

Consulting Editor:

Regina Hewitt | English Dept. | University of South Florida | Tampa, FL | USA 33620 

Benjamin Colbert | Department of Humanities| Housman Bldg. | University of Wolverhampton  | Camp St. | Wolverhampton | WV1 1AD UK
Lucy Morrison | Kayser 208 | University of Nebraska at Omaha | 6001 Dodge Street | Omaha, NE 68182 USA

Review Editor:
William D. Brewer | Department of English | ASU Box 32052 | Sanford Hall | 225 Locust Street | Appalachian State University | Boone, NC 28608 | U.S.A.

Editorial Board:

Christoph Bode
Angela Esterhammer
Jeffrey Cox
Joel Faflak
Timothy Fulford
Kelly Grovier
Susan Gustafson
Raimonda Modiano
Robert Morrison
Cecilia Powell
Tilottama Rajan
Alan Richardson
Lisa Vargo
Joseph Viscomi
Alexandra Wettlaufer

International Advisory Board:

William Christie
Lilla Maria Crisafulli
Rosa E. Penna
Marc Poree
Malabika Sarkar
Grant Scott
Gerold Sedlmayr
Kasahara Yorimichi